In this guide to deleting your Snapchat, we’ll route you through step-by-step instructions to delete your Snapchat account. The way Snapchat deletes your account is by first deactivating it for thirty days. By deactivating your account, your user ID and social activity will not be visible to others. If you refrain from logging into your account during this period your account will be deleted permanently.
A lot of social media platforms have this 30-day delay or waiting period before your account is deleted. It’s usually to reverse the decision of impulsive users to return to their app but it can also be a second chance to restore your account if you think you’ve made the wrong choice. Well, if you’ve firmly decided to delete your account follow the steps in the section below.
Why Deleting Snapchat Isn’t A Bad Idea
Here are some reasons as to why you shouldn’t hesitate when deleting your Snapchat account. Listed below are the negative impacts Snapchat and any other form of social media can have on you.
Much of the snaps and images shared on this platform is often a picture-perfect version of people’s lives. You never really see the downsides or the true version of people, and hence develop friendships with personalities that aren’t actually real.
Your snaps may be disappearing after a few seconds but are they really being ‘deleted’ from the companies servers? In early 2019, it was reported that Snapchat employees were able to access the user’s personal data using internal tools. Other than this, almost all major social media platforms are using your data to improving their advert placements and traffic.
You’ll become addicted to your app without even realizing it. Screen time averages will soar and it has an unhealthy impact on your social life. It is only when you rid yourself from social media you realize how much time you actually have to enjoy life. Quitting Snapchat will improve your personal health, make you more productive and efficient.
Your Self-Esteem Will Plummet:
Have you ever logged onto your account and seen someone posting snaps about their new car, their luxurious vacation or that beautiful house. Social media such as Snapchat have indefinite ways to make your feel worthless about your self. You will begin to feel self-conscious about where you are in life. Nevertheless, it’s important to never compare your selves with others, and a great way to avoid doing this is by deleting your social media account.
It’s a Waste of Time:
You may think that using the app for a couple of minutes at a time won’t really make an impact. But after adding all of the minutes together throughout an entire day, an average person spends up to 2 hours per day on Snapchat. That’s enough time to get a decent workout in!
See? Deleting Snapchat isn’t such a bad idea after all. Now that you’re convinced, go on ahead and follow the steps below to delete your Snapchat account.
How to Delete Deactivate/Delete Your Snapchat Account
One thing to note, you cannot delete Snapchat from your smartphone app. You can look for as many ways as you want, but the Snapchat app will always redirect you to their accounts web page. After fishing through your mobile app you will end up at the ‘Delete my Account’ section that looks a little something like this:
Here you’ll see, Snapchat support advising you to go to the ‘accounts portal’. The accounts portal is the place you need to go to in order to delete your account and you can only access it through a web browser. You can click the link on the app or the link in the steps provided below to begin deleting your account.
- Open the accounts portal page on your web browser and log into your account if you already haven’t.
- Enter your username and password and you will be directed to a ‘Delete Account’ page.
- As mentioned earlier, Snapchat will remind you that your account will be deactivated for 30 days and that you can reactivate your account. It will also prompt you to re-enter your password.
- Re-enter your username and password and press the continue button.
- After doing you, you will have deactivated your account.
- Now simply refrain from logging in for 30 days to permanently delete your account.
We know deleting a social app can be a difficult task. Moreover, having to restrain yourself from logging back in for 30 days. Hence, it is advisable that you delete the apps on your phone. You can do this by simply holding down the app on your device and select the ‘Delete App’ (iOS) or ‘Uninstall’ (Android) option when it appears.
Deleting Snapchat or any form of social media can be a tough decision to make. But realize that once you have done so, only benefits will follow. After quitting Snapchat, you’ll have more free time for yourself to do the things you actually love.
Let us know if you have any questions related to the methods discussed above.