How to Delete Snapchat Messages in 2020? [3 Ways]

Snapchat is popular amongst other social media platforms due to its ability to delete messages after someone has viewed them. However, in some cases, you might want to delete Snapchat message before your friend views it. This could be because you made a typing error, want to take back something you wrote, or you realized what you had sent was inappropriate for that time. Sometimes all it takes is a small accidental message to spark chaos in a chat. If you’re here looking for ways to delete your Snapchat messages, you’re in the right place. Deleting Snapchat messages is as quick and easy as taking a snap. But hold on, there are a few things to consider.

In order to delete a Snapchat message, there are certain criteria that have to be met. Firstly, you can only delete a Snapchat message if your recipient hasn’t viewed the message. Hence, you have to be really fast when deleting your message and kind of just hope you made it in time. Secondly, you need a good internet connection. If you have a bad network connection, you may have deleted the image, video or message on your end but Snapchat may not be able to process this in time before your friend views the message.

One more thing, when you actually delete Snapchat message. Your friend or the recipient will be aware that you deleted the messages. Hence, there’s no real way to delete a message without your friend knowing.

Now that we’ve covered what you need to do and the things you need to be wary of, we’ll show you how to do it. In order to delete your Snapchat message, follow the simple and easy instructions in the following sections.

How to Delete Snapchat Messages?

In this section, we’ll provide easy to follow, quick and easy instructions to help you delete the Snapchat messages you sent by mistake. In addition, we’ll also show you how to delete an entire chat as well. Finally, for those who are concerned, we’ll show you how to delete a Snap that is “Waiting to send”.

Option 1: Deleting Individual Messages 

Deleting individual messages on Snapchat is a very simple and painless process. This method will allow you to delete Snapchat messages within the chat that have NOT been viewed or opened by your friend or recipient. Just follow the rudimentary instructions below.

  1. Open your Snapchat app
  2. Swipe from the left side of the screen towards the right to open your Friends chat page
  3. Select the user chat in which the message you want to delete is contained
  4. Hold down the message you want to delete till the popup appears
  5. Press the delete option.
  6. Confirm your action, by selecting delete chat. (Please note this will not delete the entire chat, just the message you’ve selected)

Option 2: Deleting an Entire Conversation

Deleting an entire conversation in Snapchat deletes the entire chat from your device. However, it doesn’t have the same effect on both the sender and recipient ends. To clarify, deleting conversations on your end will not delete the chat on your friend’s device. The Snapchat support team clearly states “Clearing a conversation will not delete any saved or sent content”.

That means any saved content such as images, text, and videos will still be accessible by the recipient. Hence, this method is really just for those who want to clear up that messy chat history that has been hoarding up over time. To delete your Snapchat conversation follow the steps below:

  1. Open your Snapchat app.
  2. Select the gear icon in the top right corner to open the Snapchat Settings menu.
  3. Scroll down to the ‘Privacy’ tab.
  4. Within this section, select ‘Clear Conversation’.
  5. Now you will see a list of all the chats that are present in your Snapchat. You can delete the conversations you want by pressing the ‘x’ button next to the chat.
  6. Snapchat will remind you that this action will only clear the conversation from your feed and not from the person you had a conversation with. Select ‘Clear’ to confirm your action.

There you have it, now your conversation menu will look like a clean slate.

Option 3: Deleting a ‘Waiting to send…’ Message

This is probably an instance where having a bad internet connection can be a good thing. The waiting to send message appears when Snapchat is having trouble receiving and sending your message due to network issues. If during this time, you realize you want to delete this message, you can easily get rid of it. Moreover, they won’t even be notified you had deleted the message in this case. Follow the instructions below.

  1. Close the Snapchat App Completely
  2. Turn of your Wi-Fi, cellular data or just turn on Airplane Mode
  3. Re-Open your app and enter the chat. The message you that was waiting to send will now appear as failed to send.
  4. Do NOT press ‘Tap to retry’.
  5. Hold down the message and wait for a popup to remove failed chats to appear. Select OK.

Final Words:

Well, that’s all folks. That embarrassing message, photo or video you sent by mistake is now out of sight. Phew!

As you may have noticed, deleting Snapchat messages is a relatively easy process, whether it be an individual message or deleting an entire conversation. However, you must be aware by now that deleting your Snapchat message will still notify the user that you had deleted a message. Hence, sometimes this can lead to more controversy and fuss within a chat.

Leave a Reply