How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat? [3 Ways]

Did someone on your Snapchat friend’s list disappear out of the blue?  It’s quite possible they may have deleted you, or even blocked you. When you’re blocked on Snapchat you’ll have absolutely no way of contacting the user. Their profile, stories, and snaps will simply not exist anymore.

If the person hasn’t blocked you, the only possible option is that they have deactivated or deleted their account. If you think that the person may have deleted their own account, you can ask around some mutual friends to see what’s up. It’s also quite possible that they may have just removed you as a friend and not blocked you.

Well, today you will find out 3 easy ways on How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat.

Blocked vs Removed – What’s The Difference?

Being removed on Snapchat is a little different from being blocked. When someone removes you on Snapchat, you won’t be able to send them Snaps anymore (it’ll say that the messages are pending).  Additionally, you won’t be able to see their stories, unless they have their account set to ‘public’. Your name will no longer show up on their friend’s lists but you can still search for them in the directory. Conversations you’ve had with them will still exist if you or the person who has removed you has the messages saved.

Now, being blocked may feel a little more debilitating. Blocking someone cuts all ties with that person. If you’re blocked by someone, your previous chats and snaps with that person will disappear, their user account will seem as if it doesn’t exist and you will have absolutely no way of contacting them. You won’t be able to view their profile even if they have it set to public.

The annoying thing about being blocked is that you won’t get a notification saying you’ve been blocked. This will oftentimes leave you confused and muddled. But don’t worry, we’re here to help you find out if you’ve been blocked. In the section below, we’ve listed several ways you can check if you’ve been blocked or not.

How to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat?

Snapchat will not notify you if you’ve been blocked, hence you’ll have to do some digging yourself in order to find out if you’ve been blocked. Read all of the methods below:

Method 1: Check if You Can View Recent Chats

This method will only work if you’ve had recent chats or any chats at all with the person.  Follow the steps below:

  1. Open Snapchat and click the blue chat bubble icon in the bottom left corner.
  2. Here, you will see a list of recent chats. if you’re not blocked the username of the person you’re suspicious of will appear. If you have been blocked, the name will not appear.
  3. You can also try searching for the username in the chat search bar. If you’ve been blocked no chats will appear.

Method 2: Check Your Friends List

This method is also fairly straight-forward. If a person has blocked you, they will no longer appear on your friend’s list. However, this could also be due to the fact that they have just removed you. Follow the steps below:

  1. Open your Snapchat app.
  2. Swipe right across your screen to open your friend’s list.
  3. If someone has blocked you, they will no longer appear on this list.
  4. You can also try searching for their name in the search bar at the top. If you’ve been blocked you won’t be able to search for their name either.

Method 3: Ask a Mutual Friend

If the person that has blocked you is friends with someone you know very well, you could try asking them. You could also ask them to search for the person’s profile. If their profile appears on your friends’ account, you’ll sadly realize that they haven’t deleted their account but blocked you instead. However, if your friend is also blocked by that person we’re kind of back to square one. Also, this method seems a bit intrusive to the person’s privacy, but if you’re that paranoid or desperate to know if someone’s blocked you, it might be the most realistic way to do it.

Why Would Someone Block You?

After you’ve gone through the methods above, you might have come to the realization that you’ve been blocked on Snapchat. Now you’re probably wondering why this happened.

It’s a difficult question to answer as the reasons can vary from person to person. Maybe the person found your snaps offensive or not to their liking. It’s also quite possible that the person has ghosted you. Ghosting is when someone disappears without any warnings, calls or texts. This is common in relationships or friendships that were toxic. However, if you feel that you were on good terms with the person that blocked you, you definitely want to physically approach or contact them on a different social platform.

Final Words

In the end, whether you’ve been blocked or not, Snapchat is just another social media platform. It’s not the end of the world and there’s no reason to be upset about it. If the person that blocked you is still your true friend you will be able to contact them by other means and solve the issues between you two.

On the other hand, if you’ve been blocked and completely ghosted, it’s probably best for your mental health that you keep that person out of your life. Sometimes it’s hard to let go, but it might just be the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply